Welcome to I.S.A.S.F.

ISASF, International Society for Advancement of Supercritical Fluids, is a non-profit society that aims to promote knowledge and applications of Supercritical Fluids.

Thesis Award

How apply for ?



Any student having defended a Ph.D. thesis before 31 December 2017 (defense must have occurred in 2017) is invited to apply for the Ph.D. Award, granted by the International Society for the Advancement of Supercritical Fluids, by submitting his (her) work to the ISASF jury. The Award will consist in a grant of 1000 euros. It will be awarded during the 12th International Symposium on Supercritical Fluids that will be held in Antibes, France next April ( https://www.issf2018.fr/ ).
The subject of the thesis must be closely related to the practice and/or theory of supercritical fluids (at least half of the work must be directly applicable to supercritical fluids).
How to apply: A file in English must be submitted to the Society contact (contact@isasf.netby March 11, 2018.

It shall include :

  • Dissertation title
  • A detailed abstract (no more than 2 pages)
  • Highlights of the Ph.D. work
  • The list of the most relevant publications linked to the Ph.D. work, already published or in press
  • Laboratory and supervisor names and address
  • Environment description : number of students and supervisors dealing with supercritical fluids in the team where the work was done
  • Duration of the work (number of months) and date of defense
  • Applicant address

ISASF PhD AWARD: list of winners


  2017 :

PhD Thesis Award:

Laureate : Miriam Rueda, University of Valladolid, Spain


Best Poster Awards :

Laureate : Paolo TRUCILLO, Department of Industrial Engineering - University of Salerno (ITALY)

Poster Title : Preparation of Liposomes Loaded with Hydrophilic and Hydrophobic Bioactives Using Supercritical Carbon Dioxide

Laureate : Tobias KLIMA, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)

Poster Title : Preparation of Liposomes Loaded with Hydrophilic and Hydrophobic Bioactives Using Supercritical Carbon Dioxide

Business Plan competition :

Laureate : Luis Miguel SANZ-MORAL, University of Valladolid (Spain)

Project Title : Light Energy


2016 : 


  • Ana Sofia Matias da Silva, MIT Portugal Program, Portugal
  • Bruno Miguel da Silva Pinho, IFPEN, France


2013-2014  :


  •  Ingrid CABRERA PUIG, CSIC, Barcelona, Spain
  • Cristina GUTIERREZ MUNOZ, Universidad de Castilla la Mancha, Ciudad Real, Spain

2011-2012  :

Vincent HOLMBERG, University of Texas, Austin (USA)


  • Brice CALVIGNAC, RAPSODEE, Ecole des Mines d'Albi CNRS, Albi (France)
  • Marcio TEMTEM, REQUIMTE, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Lisbon (Portugal)

The two winners were ranked first tie


  • Andréanne BOUCHARD, Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands)


2006-2007 :

ex-aequo :

  • Rita DUARTE, ITQB/IBET Oeiras (Portugal)
  • Yohana PEREZ DE DIEGO, Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands)

2005 :

ex æquo :

  • Edit SZEKELY, Budapest University of Technology (Hungary)
  • Geert VERRECK, University of Leuwen (Belgium)


2004 :

1st Prize :

  • Parad S. SHAH, University of Texas at Austin (USA)

2nd Prize ex-aequo :

  • Maaike VAN ROSMALEN, TU DELFT (Netherlands)
  • Nicola DURLING, University of Leicester (United Kingdom)


2003 :

  • Sara SPILIMBERGO, University of Padova (Italy)

2002 :

  • Orazio DI GIOVANNI, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)

2000 :

  • Patrick DUTOURNIE, ENSGTI, University of Pau (France)
  • Frank WUBBOLTS, TU DELFT (Netherlands)


1999 :

  • Selma GUIGARD, University of GUELPH (Canada)


ex-aequo :

  • Stéphane SARRADE, CEA-MARCOULE (France) (invitation to Sendai meeting)
  • Krishna SASTRY, ITT Bombay, (India) (invitation to Sendai meeting)

Special Award :

Jean-Yves CLAVIER, SEPAREX, Champigneulles (France)